Columbia Marionette Theatre – “Legends of Ancient Greece”

Hurricane Matthew put me in Columbia, South Carolina, during the latter part of this week. So I was able to enjoy a few of the wide variety of events Columbia has to offer, including the “Legends of Ancient Greece” puppet show at the Columbia Marionette Theatre. 

“Legends of Ancient Greece” provided the audience of mainly children and their parents with introductions to some classical mythology stories, with the narrator being Pan, the downloadGreek God known for his musical talents, among other things; therefore, it does seem natural for Pan to be telling these stories. These stories are told in an engaging way using both marionettes and shadow puppets, and the myths are woven together seamlessly, throughout. The puppets’ movements and mannerisms mirror reality, and enhance the show; the animated illustrations throughout are simple, but effective, as well. The stories, including “Pandora’s Box” and “Orpheus in the Underworld” are told very simply, but at the same time, I felt each story seemed to have an added layer of meaning to it that presented a fresh way to look at it. If I had the opportunity, I would definitely see it again; I definitely think to see a quality performance such as this combining myths with puppets is a rare gem nowadays, and therefore, it is not to be missed, if the opportunity arises.

About Philip B.

I'm a recent MLS graduate seeking work as a youth services librarian in a public library. I especially enjoy organizing and presenting storytimes using my puppetry and storytelling skills. I love books, both print and electronic. I also enjoy art, music, theatre and baseball. One of my favorite summer activities is going to the NC mountains and exploring hiking trails.

Leave a Reply

