Savannah Children’s Book Festival (2012)

This past Saturday, I attended my second Savannah Children’s Book Festival in Forsyth Park. I heard a musician play, visited some authors and bought a book. I took some pictures of the authors / illustrators I visited, and will share a little about them and what I learned.

The most challenging part was deciding which authors / illustrators I wanted to see, as I could not stay for the whole time. After much deliberation, I decided to go with Shana Corey, Tad Hills and Carmen Agra Deedy.

Corey writes primarily picture book biographies about important women in history. One of her picture books, “Here Come the Girl Scouts!”, is about the colorful pioneer Juliette “Daisy” Gordon Low, who founded the Girl Scouts 100 years ago in Savannah.

Author / Illustrator Tad Hills read from his picture book “Rocket Writes a Story,” IMG_hillsx the sequel to “How Rocket Learned to Read” in the popular “Rocket” series, and painted an illustration of a duck, one of the characters in his books. In reply to one of the children who asked about how he painted it, he said, “The more you do something, the better you get at it.”

Deedy is the most familiar name of the authors present at the festival. Two of her picture books, “The Library Dragon” and “Martina the Beautiful Cockroach” are definitely classics in children’s literature. In addition, as a widely acclaimed storyteller, IMG_deedy she kept the audience engaged by telling the story of how she learned to love reading books.

I hadn’t really planned on buying a book at the festival, but curiosity made me visit the Barnes & Noble stand. I ended up buying the 20th anniversary edition of Jan Brett’s “The Mitten,” an adaptation of a Ukrainian folktale, that is about a collection of animals that try to fit into a boy’s lost (snow) white mitten. I really love this story and hope to learn it, soon. This would be a great one to add to my repertoire of stories.

About Philip B.

I'm a recent MLS graduate seeking work as a youth services librarian in a public library. I especially enjoy organizing and presenting storytimes using my puppetry and storytelling skills. I love books, both print and electronic. I also enjoy art, music, theatre and baseball. One of my favorite summer activities is going to the NC mountains and exploring hiking trails.

Leave a Reply

