Earth Day

Today is Earth Day, and I have a confession to make: I could be doing a much better job at playing my part in helping to protect our planet. This is surely the case, if I wish to help educate young people on the roles they can play. In doing so, I can also help others improve the quality of life on our planet.

Some of my library ideas for celebrating the Earth with young people, include offering Earth Day-themed storytimes, singing songs / reciting poetry centered around the theme, engaging in a mosaic craft activity, creating a mural in the library and educating about community initiatives. Some films that could be hits, include “The Lorax,” “FernGully – The Last Rainforest” and “Hoot.”

Here is a sampling of Earth Day web resources I found interesting:

“Best Earth Day Activities in Pittsburgh” from CBS Pittsburgh – Earth Day activities mentioned here include educational and hands-on volunteer opportunities in the Pittsburgh area, as well as a bike parade honoring Naturalist Rachel Carson.

“Green Book Festival” website – Provides information about an annual competition honoring published works that “contribute to greater understanding, respect for and positive action on the changing worldwide environment.”

“One Day on Earth” article form the International Business Times – In-depth story about a documentary that captures life in more than 160 countries all in the same day and creates what has been deemed as “time capsule art.” The film makes its screen debut today.

About Philip B.

I'm a recent MLS graduate seeking work as a youth services librarian in a public library. I especially enjoy organizing and presenting storytimes using my puppetry and storytelling skills. I love books, both print and electronic. I also enjoy art, music, theatre and baseball. One of my favorite summer activities is going to the NC mountains and exploring hiking trails.

Leave a Reply

