Johnny Cash Documentary (2008) Review

Today, I finally visited the Smithsonian’s traveling exhibit at the library – “New Harmonies: Celebrating American Roots Music.” The reason I chose this day to come was because they showed the documentary “Johnny Cash: The Man, His World, His Music” at the library. What I like most about the fluent 1969 documentary is that it provides an in-depth look into the country singer’s life. He sings with the likes of his bride June Carter Cash (“Jackson”) and folk singer / songwriter Bob Dylan (“One Too Many Mornings”), and had an award-winning year. Through footage of Johnny Cash’s life and performances, the documentary provides insight into his character and what makes his work such an eminent example of American Roots Music. Here’s a memento from the library exhibit that I accidentally took home with me.

About Philip B.

I'm a recent MLS graduate seeking work as a youth services librarian in a public library. I especially enjoy organizing and presenting storytimes using my puppetry and storytelling skills. I love books, both print and electronic. I also enjoy art, music, theatre and baseball. One of my favorite summer activities is going to the NC mountains and exploring hiking trails.

Leave a Reply

