Lowcountry Puppet Shows

On Tuesday, I went to see a few great puppet shows. The first one, at the library, was Hobey Ford and his golden rod puppets, which he designs and constructs, himself. Ford’s show was very entertaining and informative, as he used his puppets to adapt folktales. Throughout, he brought the puppets and stories to life with his puppet movements and interactive storytelling. While Ford is an accomplished puppeteer visiting from the mountains of NC, Yostie is a well-known lowcountry puppeteer. She came to the new Booksalicious child-friendly bookstore, where she told stories with puppets and encouraged the children to do the same. During both events, I was happy to also leave the shows with a few really neat souvenirs, including one of Ford’s patented peeper puppets. Most important of all, though, were the memories. As a future librarian, I look forward to sharing my excitement for puppetry and storytelling, as both performers did so well.

About Philip B.

I'm a recent MLS graduate seeking work as a youth services librarian in a public library. I especially enjoy organizing and presenting storytimes using my puppetry and storytelling skills. I love books, both print and electronic. I also enjoy art, music, theatre and baseball. One of my favorite summer activities is going to the NC mountains and exploring hiking trails.

Leave a Reply

