Theater Review – Hairspray

My family and I saw the theater musical “Hairspray” on Mother’s Day. The modern broadway classic provides a feel of what it was like to live in the 60’s through the music, the dance shows, the Baltimore setting, the hairdos, clothing and the discrimination that went on.The story centers around a plump teenage girl who shows how a breath of fresh air can impact change. The story set in Baltimore at the time of the “The Corny Collins Show” gives the audience a sense of an authentic American experience. Everything seemed so well rehearsed and choreographed, and the rhythmic music always seemed to keep my hands tapping or feet stomping.

After the show, we went to Carrabbas, our favorite Italian restaurant to celebrate the occasion and topped our pasta dishes off with their world-famous cannoli. It was a special day, and I’m glad I took a little time to write about it! I hope to spend many more a mother’s day with my mom and write about it here. I know there will be many more great memories to share here, too!

About Philip B.

I'm a recent MLS graduate seeking work as a youth services librarian in a public library. I especially enjoy organizing and presenting storytimes using my puppetry and storytelling skills. I love books, both print and electronic. I also enjoy art, music, theatre and baseball. One of my favorite summer activities is going to the NC mountains and exploring hiking trails.

Leave a Reply

