Theater Review – The 39 Steps

One might wonder what I was doing seeing “The 39 Steps” on my birthday! I’ll tell you what I was doing. I was enjoying myself with my family.

We’ve been going to performances at the Art Center of Coastal Carolina for as long as I can remember, but this one definitely was at the top of best shows I’ve seen there, or anywhere. It’s a Hitchcock adaptation, and I couldn’t have expected anything but the best. It was an example of minimalist theater, where the actors play multiple parts. What I liked most about it was that the movements were so well orchestrated, but at the same time, it had an improvisational feel to it. In addition, the visual and sound effects, and props also helped keep me and my family engaged in this story about the chase of an English gent wanted for murder. As the story progresses, the audience will learn the true meaning of “The 39 Steps” and the larger plot. They will be thoroughly entertained, as it combines mystery, romance and humor, and perhaps, even a little horror. And of course, Hitchock’s signature outline makes an appearance.

This show integrated the humor I associate with Charlie Chaplin and perhaps, the modern day special effects I associate with George Lucas and even more contemporary filmmakers.

About Philip B.

I'm a recent MLS graduate seeking work as a youth services librarian in a public library. I especially enjoy organizing and presenting storytimes using my puppetry and storytelling skills. I love books, both print and electronic. I also enjoy art, music, theatre and baseball. One of my favorite summer activities is going to the NC mountains and exploring hiking trails.

Leave a Reply

